Absolute Happiness

I used to know absolutely everything about absolutely everything. I was a real “know it all”. I also had an automatic absolute opinion about absolutely everything. I also felt like I was the “clearinghouse” for all things absolutely worth knowing. Because I believed this, proved I was an absolute moron. This was my “front” and excuse for doing nothing with my life. I had no purpose or sense of proportion. Why would I? I knew absolutely everything about absolutely everything! I was an undisciplined, arrogant hypocrite. Okay, I know all of this I, I, I crap is absolutely sickening, especially coming from a moron like me, so here it is…

While standing in Ivy Green, the birthplace of Helen Keller in Tuscumbia, Alabama I had my first intelligent thought…
image

It is no one’s job to make me happy.
image

I am not the sole author and editor of my life. I recognize that I stand on the shoulders of those who came before me. Those who suffered and sacrificed so that I could choose.
image

They taught me…
image

Inspired me, humbled me…
image

and made me feel less alone…
image

The longer I live, the more I discover, how little I know.
image

I have learned, however, that arrogance and selfishness are poisons that drain life of it’s meaning and purpose.
image

I can be a help or a hindrance… Helping is the harder choice because it means putting someone else’s needs ahead of my own.
image

Courage and sacrifice lead to triumph, genuine joy…
image

and reward.
image

Hope can’t be seen, I feel it.
image

Happiness can be seen and felt but it means nothing until I share it.
image

Dreams are meaningless until I do something.
image

The shoulders I am standing on are strong.
image

Happiness.

Sincerely Yours,
Buffalo Tom Peabody, 3rd grade class president and friend.
image

P.S. You know more than I do.

The 9 LivesOf Buffalo Tom Peabody

18 thoughts on “Absolute Happiness

  1. Excellent, and so very, very true. I struggle with the same thing every day. Making people laugh is an antidote to the poisons of arrogance and selfishness that, as you so wisely state, “drain life of it’s meaning and purpose.”

    Thank you for the reminder. I hope you’ll write more elegant insights in the future.

    • Thank you, so much, Floridaborne! I am definitely not a writer but I do like to draw attention to Helen Keller and Anne Sullivan. Mark Twain too! I think you and I are alike in that we can laugh at ourselves. And that is the toughest audience! :-)

    • Thank you, Juls! You are so kind. You definitely brighten my days. The banner you created for my blog reminds me every day… Not to mention all of the Tech advice you have given me! I am grateful for your friendship.

  2. You are an inspiration to all of us. With all our joking around, I have always felt that! Your humor alone keeps me going on many a morning when things are going rough! I’m counting on you, Tom!!

Leave a Reply

