I’ll Cry If I Want To

http://www.npr.org/blogs/thetwo-way/2015/02/16/386768833/lesley-gore-famous-for-her-song-its-my-party-has-died

image

Sadly, Lesley Gore died yesterday. I liked all of her records and I really liked her… In that way you can really like a person you have never met. It seems like I have followed her career all my life. She and her music made me feel good about myself and made me feel happy to be alive.
She was an authentic rock and roll artist just like my other favorites, Buddy Holly, Elvis, Etta James, Janis Joplin, Chuck Berry, Dion, Tom Waits…

image

My real life career is in music and Lesley Gore inspired me and will continue to inspire me. I hope you will click the link at the top of this post and read an accurate article about her life and amazing career.
As an artist, Lesley was tremendously talented and as a person she was amazingly NOT full of crap. She was always direct and honest during interviews and I’ve heard  and read many of them.

image

I can’t think of a better way for a person to spend their life than sharing their talent bringing joy, happiness and entertainment to others.

image

I hope you’ll check Lesley out on YouTube and also on iTunes and Google Play Music. She is definitely worth it!

image

One of my favorite Lesley Gore songs is her cover version of “Young Love” and just like young love, I think Lesley will always be the embodiment of youth, love and hope. Fortunately we will always have her music.
I wish I could have met her. Her family and friends were very lucky.

image

image

image

image

The 9 Lives Of Buffalo Tom Peabody & Gunther Tootie

12 thoughts on “I’ll Cry If I Want To

Leave a Reply

